My Pot of Gold in Iceland

Location: Vik, Iceland

Iceland flag

Prior to my week-long road trip around the circumference of Iceland, I had high expectations of amazing scenery but medium-low expectations of both seeing the Northern Lights and eating delicious garlic bread. I’d heard that food was very expensive in Iceland and that you’d better be well stocked with snacks at all times lest you wind up in a tiny town with nothing on offer but starvation. So yes, we ensured we always had instant noodles on hand as well as a wide range of munchy things.

In the end, both my medium-low expectations were surpassed with two sightings of the bucket-listed Aurora Borealis as well as some delightful garlic bread. During our stay in Vik, a town in the south of Iceland (population circa 300) we found a cosy restaurant called Halldorskaffi which served delicious food. I clapped my hands in glee when I saw garlic pizza on the menu.

Vik, Iceland Gulfoss Waterfall, Iceland

Verdict: Yes, yes, yes! AMAZING! The dough was wonderfully soft yet substantial, the garlic plentiful and for once, cheese didn’t ruin things. Looking back on the photos, the pizza was rather oily but at the time, that’s probably what made it good. I just remember being so, incredibly happy that in Iceland of all places, one could find the perfect garlic pizza. My pot of gold at the end of a rainbow.

GB Score: 9/10 (near perfect)

Leave a Reply

